Archive for April, 2013

A Short Rest.

I will be taking a short break from my WordPress account, as a result of the pressure of exams. God willing, we will speak soon.


Read Full Post »

Heineken Cup 2009-10.

The 2009–10 Heineken Cup was the 15th season of the Heineken Cup, the annual rugby union European club competition for clubs from the top six nations in European rugby. It started in October 2009 and ended on 22 May 2010 with the final at Stade de France in which Toulouse defeated Biarritz 21 – 19 to win the trophy for the fourth time.

Quarter Finals

Leinster 29 Clermont Auvergne 28 at RDS Arena, Dublin
Biarritz 29 Ospreys 28 at Estadio Anoeta, Donastia-San-Sebastián
Munster 33 Northampton 19 at Thomond Pk. Limerick
Toulouse 42 Stade Francais 16 at Stade Municipal, Toulouse

Semi Finals

Toulouse 26 Leinster 16 at Stade Municipal
Biarritz 18 Munster 7 at Estadio Anoeta


Biarritz 19 Toulouse 21 at Stade de France, Paris

Read Full Post »

The 1889 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship was the third staging of Ireland’s premier Gaelic football knock-out competition. Tipperary were the champions. Only two provincial championships were played: Leinster and Munster. The winners met in the All-Ireland final.

Quarter Final

Louth 2-7 Dublin 0-6 at Drogheda

Semi Finals

Louth w/o Kilkenny at Dublin
Wicklow w/o Queen’s County at Dublin


Louth 1-7 Wicklow 1-4 at Dublin

The Wicklow-Queen’s County game was later ordered to be played again, and so the final had to be played again as well.

Semi Final Refixture

Queen’s County 0-9 Wicklow 0-4 at Inchicore

Final Refixture

Queen’s County 0-3 Louth 0-2 at Inchicore

Quarter Final

Tipperary w/o Cork

Semi Finals

Tipperary beat Waterford
Cork 0-2 Kerry 0-1 at Mallow


Tippeary 1-2 Cork 0-3 at Mallow

All Ireland Final

Tipperary 3-6 Queen’s County 0-0 at Inchicore

Read Full Post »

Equatorial Guinea, (Spanish: Guinea Ecuatorial), officially the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, (Spanish: República de Guinea Ecuatorial [reˈpuβlika ðe ɣiˈnea ekwatoˈɾjal], French: République de Guinée équatoriale [ʁepyblik də ɡine ekwatoˈʁjal], Portuguese: República da Guiné Equatorial [ʁɛˈpuβlikɐ ðɐ ɣiˈnɛ ɨkwɐtoˈɾjaɫ]), is a country located in Middle Africa. With an area of 28,000 square kilometres (11,000 sq mi) Equatorial Guinea is one of the smallest countries in continental Africa. It has two parts, an insular and a mainland region. The insular region consists of the islands of Bioko (formerly Fernando Pó) in the Gulf of Guinea and Annobón, a small volcanic island south of the equator. Bioko island is the northernmost part of Equatorial Guinea and is the site of the country’s capital, Malabo. The island nation of São Tomé and Príncipe is located between Bioko and Annobón. The mainland region, Río Muni, is bordered by Cameroon on the north and Gabon on the south and east. It also includes several small offshore islands (such as Corisco, Elobey Grande, and Elobey Chico).

Formerly the colony of Spanish Guinea, its post-independence name evokes its location near both the equator and the Gulf of Guinea. Apart from the Spanish cities of Ceuta and Melilla on the coast of Morocco, it is the only country in mainland Africa whose de jure official language is Spanish.

Since the mid-1990s, Equatorial Guinea has become one of sub-Sahara’s largest oil producers. With a population of 650,702, it is the richest country per capita in Africa, and its gross domestic product (GDP) per capita ranks 64th in the world; However, the wealth is distributed very unevenly and few people have benefited from the oil riches. The country ranks 136th on the UN’s 2011 Human Development Index. The UN says that less than half of the population has access to clean drinking water and that 20% of children die before reaching five.

Equatorial Guinea has one of the worst human rights records in the world, consistently ranking among the “worst of the worst” in Freedom House’s annual survey of political and civil rights. Reporters Without Borders ranks President Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo among its “predators” of press freedom. The US Trafficking in Persons Report, 2012, states “Equatorial Guinea is a source and destination for women and children subjected to forced labor and sex trafficking.” The report rates Equatorial Guinea as a “Tier 3” country, the lowest (worst) ranking: “Countries whose governments do not fully comply with the minimum standards and are not making significant efforts to do so.”

Read Full Post »

Heineken Cup 2008-09.

The 2008–09 Heineken Cup was the fourteenth edition of the Heineken Cup, the annual rugby union European club competition for clubs from the top six nations in European rugby. It started in October 2008 and ended on 23 May 2009 at Murrayfield in Edinburgh. Irish side Leinster became the champions, defeating Leicester Tigers 19–16 in the final.

Quarter Finals

Blues 9 Toulouse 6 at Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
Leicester 20 Bath 15 at Walkers Stadium, leicester
Munster 43 Ospreys 9 at Thomond Pk. Limerick
Harlequins 5 Leinster 6 at The Stoop, london

Semi Finals

Munster 6 leinster 25 at Croke Pk. Dublin
Blues 26 Leicester 26 at Millennium Stadium AET
Pens: 6-7


Leicester 16 Leinster 19 at Murrayfield, Edinburgh

Read Full Post »

The All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 1889 was the third series of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship, Ireland’s premier hurling knock-out competition. Dublin won the championship, beating Clare 5-1 to 1-6 in the final.

A total of eight teams contested the championship, one less than the previous year. It was the first championship to be completed since 1887.

The Leinster championship was contested by just three teams: Dublin (Kickhams), Laois (Rathdowney) and Louth (Drogheda Gaelics). Two participants from the previous year, Kildare and reigning champions Kilkenny, did not field teams.

All six counties entered a team in the Munster championship: Cork (Blackrock}, Clare (Tulla), Limerick (South Liberties), Tipperary (Moycarkey), Waterford and Kerry.

Once again, the hurling championship was not contested in either Connacht or Ulster.

Leinster Semi Final

Dublin 6-9 Louth 0-1


Dublin w\o Laois

Munster Quarter Final

Tipperary w\o Waterford

Semi Finals

Cork 0-5 Kerry 1-1
Tipperary 3-0 Clare 2-2

Clare w\o Kerry

All Ireland Final

Dublin 5-1 Clare 1-6 at Inchicore, Dublin

Read Full Post »