Archive for June, 2013

World Cup 1930.

The 1930 FIFA World Cup was the inaugural FIFA World Cup, the world championship for men’s national association football teams. It took place in Uruguay from 13 July to 30 July 1930. FIFA, football’s international governing body selected Uruguay as host nation as the country would be celebrating the centenary of its first constitution, and the Uruguay national football team had successfully retained their football title at the 1928 Summer Olympics. All matches were played in the Uruguayan capital, Montevideo, the majority at the Estadio Centenario, which was built for the tournament.

Thirteen teams, seven from South America, four from Europe and two from North America entered the tournament. Few European teams chose to participate because of the difficulty of travelling to South America. The teams were divided into four groups, with the winner of each group progressing to the semi-finals. The first two World Cup matches took place simultaneously, and were won by France and the United States, who defeated Mexico 4–1 and Belgium 3–0, respectively. Lucien Laurent of France scored the first goal in World Cup history, while American goalkeeper Jimmy Douglas posted the first official “clean sheet” in the tournament.

Argentina, Uruguay, United States and Yugoslavia each won their respective groups to qualify for the semi-finals. In the final, hosts and pre-tournament favourites Uruguay defeated Argentina 4–2 in front of a crowd of 93,000 people, and became the first nation to win the World Cup.

First Round

Group 1

France 4 Mexico 1 at Estadio Pocitos
Argentina 1 France 0 at Estadio Parque Central
Chile 3 Mexico 0 at Estadio Parque Central
Chile 1 France 0 at Estadio Centenario
Argentina 6 Mexico 3 at Estadio Centenario
Argentina 3 Chile 1 at Estadio centenario

Group 2

Yugoslavia 2 Brazil 1 at Estadio Parque Central
Yugoslavia 4 Bolivia 0 at Estadio Parque Central
Brazil 4 Bolivia 0 at Estadio Centenario

Group 3

Romainia 3 Peru 1 at Estadio Pocitos
Uruguay 1 Peru 0 at Estadio Centenario
Uruguay 4 Romainia 0 at Estadio Centenario

Group 4

USA 3 Belgium 0 at Estadio Parque Central
USA 3 Paraquay 0 at Estadio Parque Central
Paraquay 1 Belgium 0 at Estadio Centenario

Semi Finals

Argentina 6 USA 1 at Estadio Centenario
Uruguay 6 Yugoslavia 1 at Estadio Centenario


Uruguay 4 Argentina 2 at Estadio Centenario


Read Full Post »

Fiji (Fijian: Viti; Fiji Hindi: फ़िजी), officially the Republic of Fiji (Fijian: Matanitu ko Viti; Fiji Hindi: फ़िजी गणराज्य Fijī Gaṇarājya), is an island country in Melanesia in the South Pacific Ocean about 1,100 nautical miles (2,000 km; 1,300 mi) northeast of New Zealand’s North Island. Its closest neighbours are Vanuatu to the west, France’s New Caledonia to the southwest, New Zealand’s Kermadec to the southeast, Tonga to the east, the Samoas, France’s Wallis and Futuna to the northeast and Tuvalu to the north.

The majority of Fiji’s islands were formed through volcanic activity starting around 150 million years ago. Today, some geothermal activity still occurs on the islands of Vanua Levu and Taveuni. Fiji has been inhabited since the second millennium BC. The country comprises an archipelago of more than 332 islands, of which 110 are permanently inhabited, and more than 500 islets, amounting to a total land area of circa 18,300 square kilometres (7,100 sq mi). The two major islands, Viti Levu and Vanua Levu, account for 87% of the population of almost 850,000. The former contains Suva, the capital and largest city. Most Fijians live on Viti Levu’s coasts, either in Suva or in smaller urban centres. Viti Levu’s interior is sparsely inhabited due to its terrain. In the 17th and 18th centuries, the Dutch and the British explored Fiji. Fiji was a British colony until 1970; British administration lasted almost a century. During World War II, thousands of Fijians volunteered to aid in Allied efforts via their attachment to the New Zealand and Australian army units; the Republic of Fiji Military Forces (RFMF) consist of land and naval units.

Fiji is one of the most developed economies in the Pacific island realm due to an abundance of forest, mineral and fish resources. Today, the main sources of foreign exchange are its tourist industry and sugar exports. The country’s currency is the Fijian dollar.

Following a coup in 2006, Ratu Epeli Nailatikau became Fiji’s president after a high court ruled that the military leadership was unlawfully appointed. Fiji’s local government, in the form of city and town councils, is supervised by the Ministry of Local Government and Urban Development.

Read Full Post »

The 1894 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship was the eighth staging of Ireland’s premier Gaelic football knock-out competition. Dublin were the champions in the first replayed final.

Leinster Final

Dublin 0-4 Meath 0-4 at Clonturk Park, Dublin


Meath 0-2 Dublin 0-2 at Navan

Second Replay

Dublin 1-8 Meath 1-2 at Clonturk Park

Munster Final

Cork 1-7 Tipperary 1-3

All Ireland Final

Dublin 1-1 Cork 0-6 at Clonturk Park


Dublin 0-5 Cork 1-2 at Clonturk Park

Note that, at the time, a goal was worth five points, so the first game was a draw: 6 points each. Cork led the replay 7 points to 5 when a dispute arose and the Dublin team walked off the field. Cork refused to play a second replay and Dublin were awarded the title.

Read Full Post »

The All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 1894 was the eighth series of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship, Ireland’s premier hurling knock-out competition. Cork won the championship, beating Dublin in the final.

Leinster Final

Dublin w\o Kilkenny

Munster Semi Finals

Tipperary 2-4 Kerry 0-6 at Cork
Cork 4-13 Limerick 0-2 at Cork


Cork 3-4 Tipperary 1-2 at Charleville

All Ireland Final

Cork 5-20 Dublin 2-0 at Phoenix Park, Dublin

Read Full Post »

The Faroe Islands (/ˈfɛəroʊ/; Faroese: Føroyar pronounced [ˈfœɹjaɹ]; Danish: Færøerne Danish pronunciation: [ˈfæɐ̯øːˀɐnə]) are an island group and archipelago under the sovereignty of the Kingdom of Denmark, situated between the Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, approximately halfway between Norway and Iceland. The total area is approximately 1,400 km2 (540 sq mi) with a 2010 population of almost 50,000 people.

The Faroe Islands have been a self-governing country within the Danish Realm since 1948. Over the years, the Faroese have taken control of most domestic matters. Areas that remain the responsibility of Denmark include military defence, police, justice, currency and foreign affairs. The Faroe Islands also have representatives in the Nordic Council as members of the Danish delegation.

The islands were associated with and taxed by Norway, then the Union of Kalmar, and then Denmark-Norway until 1814, when Norway was united with Sweden. Scandinavia was in political turmoil following the Sixth Coalition of the Napoleonic Wars, when the Treaty of Kiel granted Denmark control over the Faroes, Iceland and Greenland in 1814. The Danish trade monopoly ended in 1856.

Read Full Post »

Heineken Cup

The Heineken Cup began in th 1995-96 season. There have been ten winners, whilst sixteen teams have made it to a final in its eighteen championships to date.

The role of honour is:

Toulouse 4
Leinster 3
Leicester 2
Munster 2
Wasps 2
Ulster 1
Northampton 1
Brive 1
Bath 1
Toulon 1

By country the role of honour reads:

France 6
England 6
Ireland 6

Read Full Post »

The 1893 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship was the seventh staging of Ireland’s premier Gaelic football knock-out competition. Wexford were the champions.

Leinster Final

Wexford 0-1 Kilkenny 0-5 at Wexford
Kilkenny refused to take the field for the second half in protest at rough play by the Wexford team. Wexford were awarded the Leinster title.

Munster Final

Cork 2-3 Kerry 1-4

All Ireland Final

Wexford 1-1 Cork 0-1 at Pheonix Park, Dublin

Read Full Post »

Older Posts »